Search

Bookish Wisps

"A wisp of page filled with hundreds of words, a slap of a thousand feelings."

Author Interview: Helen Scheuerer, author of The Oremere Chronicles…

📖 📖 📖 📖 📖 📖 📖

I had been a growing fan of this author, I have discovered her books through Goodreads. I had since then marked Heart of Mist as to-read; having trouble scoring a copy due living so far away: limited me. I didn’t know Kindle had a phone app then. When I discovered it placed a budget just for e-books! Now that I have read them it was all worth the trouble. The Heart of Mist, Reign of Mist are books you definitely shouldn’t sleep on. Especially the third a.k.a. The Oremere Chronicles’ epic conclusion is soon to release, War of Mist!

Without further ado, Helen Scheuerer… Continue reading “Author Interview: Helen Scheuerer, author of The Oremere Chronicles…”

Middlegame – Seanan McGuire // a punch in the gut creepily goodness…

Middlegame

Title: Middlegame

Author: Seanan McGuire

Genre/Demographic: Adult Fiction, Sci-Fi, Fantasy

Publisher: TOR Publishing

Release Date: May 7th, 2019

Format: Paperback ARC

Synopsis:

Meet Roger. Skilled with words, languages come easily to him. He instinctively understands how the world works through the power of story.

Meet Dodger, his twin. Numbers are her world, her obsession, her everything. All she understands, she does so through the power of math.

Roger and Dodger aren’t exactly human, though they don’t realise it. They aren’t exactly gods, either. Not entirely. Not yet.

Meet Reed, skilled in the alchemical arts like his progenitor before him. Reed created Dodger and her brother. He’s not their father. Not quite. But he has a plan: to raise the twins to the highest power, to ascend with them and claim their authority as his own.

Godhood is attainable. Pray it isn’t attained.

Continue reading “Middlegame – Seanan McGuire // a punch in the gut creepily goodness…”

The Heart Forger – Rin Chupeco // Strap yourself in for yet another wind knocking journey…

The Heart Forger (The Bone Witch, #2)Title: The Heart Forger (The Bone Witch # 2)

Author: Rin Chupeco

Genre/Demographic: Necromancy, Fantasy, Young Adult

Release Date:  March 20th, 2018

Format: Hardback (Own)

Synopsis:

In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she’s after revenge…

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die…

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

Continue reading “The Heart Forger – Rin Chupeco // Strap yourself in for yet another wind knocking journey…”

Book Recommendations: 8 Fiction Books Tackling Poverty

I have noticed that most of the books I’ve read, I seldom see myself in it in a financial standing… And when I do, I would have a hard time pointing it out. Realizing only when I am on another book. Or like what happened with me last the first week of March. I had an incident that happened at work; that made me realize we do not see it portrayed in books as much.

When it comes to economic standing, I acknowledge that I have means and has the luxury of having affording books, I can spend here and there but it will always take me time to save up for it. Or I rely on giveaways. We all know luck runs out too, right? Anyways, I have asked around, Twitter and Groups. I have gathered a few books falling strongly in the category. It is quite alarming, most I saw were non-fiction, or were set years back. But what about contemporary fiction? That’s where I wanted them to be now…

As a result of scouring off the internet for more recommendations. Here are some of the books I received as answers, books I have personally read, and books I have found to read soon… I hope! Continue reading “Book Recommendations: 8 Fiction Books Tackling Poverty”

Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons # 2) – Marie Lu // Another buddy read-view with Divine of REA(D)IVINE

I had the opportunity to buddy read a book with Divine of REA(D)IVINE again! I am thankful you put up with my annoying butt. Hahaha! You may read her answers to my questions for her here!

Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons, #2)Title: Batman: Nightwalker

Author: Marie Lu

Genre/Demographic: Young Adult, Superheroes, DC

Publisher: Random House

Release Date: January 2nd, 2018

Format: Larger Paperback Print (Own Purchase)

Synopsis:

Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy.

The Nightwalkers are terrorizing Gotham City, and Bruce Wayne is next on their list.

One by one, the city’s elites are being executed as their mansions’ security systems turn against them, trapping them like prey. Meanwhile, Bruce is turning eighteen and about to inherit his family’s fortune, not to mention the keys to Wayne Enterprises and all the tech gadgetry his heart could ever desire. But after a run-in with the police, he’s forced to do community service at Arkham Asylum, the infamous prison that holds the city’s most brutal criminals.

Madeleine Wallace is a brilliant killer . . . and Bruce’s only hope.

In Arkham, Bruce meets Madeleine, a brilliant girl with ties to the Nightwalkers. What is she hiding? And why will she speak only to Bruce? Madeleine is the mystery Bruce must unravel. But is he getting her to divulge her secrets, or is he feeding her the information she needs to bring Gotham City to its knees? Bruce will walk the dark line between trust and betrayal as the Nightwalkers circle closer. Continue reading “Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons # 2) – Marie Lu // Another buddy read-view with Divine of REA(D)IVINE”

Round-Up: April // The biggest month yet? Endgame? Game of Thrones? Descendant of the Crane release day? Did I survive?

Did I survive? NO. I still am picking up the pieces.

Related image

Salutations!

It’s you girl here, Justine! How did your month fare?

Mine was relaxing and anxiety-inducing at the same time? Hahaha! April in the Philippines features a lot of holidays, like even a week for it. There was Araw ng Kagitingan and the Holy Week for devout Catholics in here, celebrating senakulo and penintensya, watching the prosisyon out in the streets of some in Manila and definitely happening in the provincial I am sure of.

How can I say it was relaxing and anxiety-inducing? Well at work, there had been so little to do since, yes holidays. But there’s also that threat looming ahead that says, don’t relax too much. It’ll come and bite you back in the ass. I can’t help but feel that at times. I became antsier and really disgusting around people but I have to high-key hide the panic settling in.

Still, I had a four-day holiday staycation, que sera sera. I read a book, wrote some blog posts, and participated in another readathon, the Avengers Readathon 19. By the way, have you seen Endgame? Are you up to date with The Game of Thrones? I MEAN. Y’ALL. Should I be disappointed? Should I be jumping with sheer joy? I haven’t processed them all. I had been hiding from the internet too. Not just because of spoilers. I am growing okay, being spoiled but really, I don’t have the energy to? I want old self to get in spirits and be active over social media again? SEND HELP.

Continue reading “Round-Up: April // The biggest month yet? Endgame? Game of Thrones? Descendant of the Crane release day? Did I survive?”

The Bone Witch – Rin Chupeco // Strap yourself in for it’ll be one intricately woven world building you won’t forget!

The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1)Title: the Bone Witch (The Bone Witch # 1)

Author: Rin Chupeco

Genre/Demographic: Fantasy, Paranormal, Witches, Young Adult

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Release Date: March 7th, 2017

Format: Hardback (Own)

Synopsis:

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price…

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice. Continue reading “The Bone Witch – Rin Chupeco // Strap yourself in for it’ll be one intricately woven world building you won’t forget!”

Stealing Luna (Cincamarre # 2) – Carla de Guzman // sexy and dangerous…

🍍 🍍 🍍 🍍 🍍 🍍 🍍

Stealing Luna (Cincamarre Book 2)

Title: Stealing Luna (Cincamarre # 2)

Author: Carla de Guzman

Genre/Demographic: Romance / New Adult

Release Date: April 27, 2019

Format: e-ARC

Synopsis:

Cora Justa Dumagat has had enough.

She is tired of watching the corrupt, fat cats of the council override the monarchy and risk the people’s lives in exchange for a payday. Despite advice from her Queen, Cora has decided to take matters into her own hands and hit the Joaquins where it hurts—to steal their precious Juan Luna painting right from under their noses in Barcelona.

The job shouldn’t be too difficult. If only Luis Ang, her ex-boyfriend, wasn’t hired to be her bodyguard.

Luis knows that Cora is up to something, and will stop at nothing to make sure she’s safe, even at the cost of Cora’s plans.

As Luis and Cora become more and more deeply entangled into each other, the more dangerous the situation becomes. Will Cora have her revenge? Or will stealing Luna be the last thing she ever does?

Continue reading “Stealing Luna (Cincamarre # 2) – Carla de Guzman // sexy and dangerous…”

The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

How are you all? It has been long since I did a Tag. I saw this one from Dora of Berries and Books it was an interesting tag and she tagged me to do it then. As usual, late and better late than never? Hehehe

Continue reading “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑