Search

Bookish Wisps

"A wisp of page filled with hundreds of words, a slap of a thousand feelings."

The Psychology of Time Travel – Kate Mascarenhas // where I DNFed a book…

The Psychology of Time TravelTitle: The Psychology of Time Travel

Author: Kate Mascarenhas

Genre/Demographic: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Mystery, Time Travel

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Release Date: February 12th, 2019

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project—and future of time travel—in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team—erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women’s fiction alike. Continue reading “The Psychology of Time Travel – Kate Mascarenhas // where I DNFed a book…”

Browsing Blogger’s Bookshelves: Lauren of Northern Plunder!

I was just jesting when Lauren confirmed she wanted me to raid her bookshelves! With all my feels, I feel honored! Thank you so much! She and I began newly friends over, what else, of course, books! Ultimately crying err, screaming over Rin Chupeco’s The Bone Witch Series, that I had long overdue wanted to read and now is just one book behind, because our bookstores sucks, Shadow Glass is yet to arrive BTW, Lauren…

I am getting far, so I was just jesting when I saw and commented on one of her post regarding Browsing Bloggers’ Bookshelves. And she gladly accepted and contacted me! REALLY SML!!!

Without further ado,

Welcome to Lauren’s Bookshelves!
Continue reading “Browsing Blogger’s Bookshelves: Lauren of Northern Plunder!”

Poetry Reads! // With Gratitude – Marala Scott & In a Dream You Saw a Way to Survive – Clementine Von Radics

With GratitudeTitle: With Gratitude

Author: Marala Scott

Genre/Demographic: Poetry

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Release Date: April 2, 2019

Synopsis:

Poetry and prose to reframe your days, renew your spirit, and help you approach the world with an eye towards the positive, meaningful moments—with gratitude.

With Gratitude is a collection of relatable experiences that will inspire you to recognize the good in beautiful and difficult situations—both past and present. It is a meditation on the benefits of appreciating love, loss, relationships, and fleeting moments of kindness. Continue reading “Poetry Reads! // With Gratitude – Marala Scott & In a Dream You Saw a Way to Survive – Clementine Von Radics”

Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1) – Leigh Bardugo // A buddy read-view with Divine of REA(D)IVINE

I posted a list of books I wanted to back read for the year 2019. And I am glad to all who replied saying y’all wanted to share and dedicate your time reading with me. I had managed to read 5 out of 18 books from the list. I feel that it’s not that bad… yet. HAHAHA!

Okay, one of the people who replied was Divine of REA(D)IVNE. It has been quite a ride. I know she has school. And I understand, I had been there, juggling blog, school requirements, that will really leave a lot on your plate. And I am forever grateful for Divine updating me with her status and progress. And yes, I still am up for another round of BR with you hahaha!

Divine and I agreed of interviewing each other after as like reading together and reviewing together for Leigh Bardugo’s Wonder Woman: Warbringer. I am so excited to share with you my answers! And for Divine’s answers, you should check it out here.

👩 👩 👩 👩 👩 👩 👩

Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons, #1)Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre/Demographic: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology, Superheroes, DC

Publisher: Random House

Release Date: August 29th, 2017

Format: Larger Paperback Print (Own Purchase)

Synopsis:

Daughter of immortals.

Princess Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mortal. Diana will soon learn that she has rescued no ordinary girl, and that with this single brave act, she may have doomed the world.

Daughter of death.

Alia Keralis just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted by people who think her very existence could spark a world war. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together.

Two girls will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. Tested beyond the bounds of their abilities, Diana and Alia must find a way to unleash hidden strengths and forge an unlikely alliance. Because if they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

Divine’s Question for Me: Continue reading “Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1) – Leigh Bardugo // A buddy read-view with Divine of REA(D)IVINE”

#AvengersReadathon19: Sign-Up + To-Be-Read!

banner avengers readathon

It’s Sunday, it’s 9:51 in the evening and I am whipping up a sign-up and to-be-read post for Noura’s Avenger Readathon 2019 of Perks of Being Noura! Let me tell you, it’s worth it. I have never been so excited to see a challenge I want to do so bad. I came across the sign-up post from Aleks of Mind of Luxe! And I immediately messaged Divine of REA(D)IVINE to see if she’s up for it as well… y’all better anticipate her post as well now, okay?

Enthusiastic as I already am with the movies, btw, my dad and I rewatched the movies lololol, we trash. We are very much are ready for Avengers: Endgame. I am very much looking forward to this; I have carefully crafted my read list to hit two challenges birds with one stone coughs, YARC 2019 and The 2019 Reading Challenge, coughs.

Enough of that,

What’s the Avengers Readathon?

Continue reading “#AvengersReadathon19: Sign-Up + To-Be-Read!”

Miranda in Milan – Katharine Duckett // A sapphic reimagining of The Tempest

Miranda in MilanTitle: Miranda in Milan

Author: Katharine Duckett

Genre/Demographic: LGBTIQIAP+, Retelling, Fantasy

Publisher: TOR Publishing

Release Date: March 26, 2019

Format: ARC Paperback

Synopsis:

“A haunting story that reimagines the consequences of Shakespeare’s The Tempest.”

After the tempest, after the reunion, after her father drowned his books, Miranda was meant to enter a brave new world. Naples awaited her, and Ferdinand, and a throne. Instead she finds herself in Milan, in her father’s castle, surrounded by hostile servants who treat her like a ghost. Whispers cling to her like spiderwebs, whispers that carry her dead mother’s name. And though he promised to give away his power, Milan is once again contorting around Prospero’s dark arts. With only Dorothea, her sole companion and confidant to aid her, Miranda must cut through the mystery and find the truth about her father, her mother, and herself. Continue reading “Miranda in Milan – Katharine Duckett // A sapphic reimagining of The Tempest”

Do-It-Yourself: Spray Painted Book Edges

A long time ago, I share a photo on both Twitter and Instagram about a book spray painted edges, I did myself. Well, technically with the help of my aunt~whom I am older because of my grandmother’s big family, blah, blah, another tale to tell…

So, a lot had been asking how I did it and people suggested that I should do a blog post about it. And I said, okay. I wanted to share this immediately but life outside the blog happens and admittedly I had been struggling to keep up with the post. I hadn’t gone hiatus just yet. I had been carefully scheduling posts; all is good for now.

And in case you are wondering I was scared by the outcome of this activity as well. If you’re wondering how it all went? Continue reading below. You won’t be disappointed!

Image result for eye brow raise gif

What you’ll be needing:

Continue reading “Do-It-Yourself: Spray Painted Book Edges”

Descendant of the Crane – Joan He // certainly a fantasy novel not to miss!

Descendant of the Crane

Title: Descendant of the Crane

Author: Joan He

Publisher: Albert Whitman & Company

Release Date: April 9, 2019

Synopsis:

Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own

Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the queen of an unstable kingdom. Determined to find her father’s killer, Hesina does something desperate: she engages the aid of a soothsayer—a treasonous act, punishable by death… because in Yan, magic was outlawed centuries ago.

Using the information illicitly provided by the sooth, and uncertain if she can trust even her family, Hesina turns to Akira—a brilliant and alluring investigator who’s also a convicted criminal with secrets of his own. With the future of her kingdom at stake, can Hesina find justice for her father? Or will the cost be too high?

In this shimmering Chinese-inspired fantasy, debut author Joan He introduces a determined and vulnerable young heroine struggling to do right in a world brimming with deception. Continue reading “Descendant of the Crane – Joan He // certainly a fantasy novel not to miss!”

A Conspiracy of Kings – Megan Whalen Turner // at this point I beg you to read it, you’re possibly missing out

A Conspiracy of Kings (The Queen's Thief, #4)Title:  A Conspiracy of Kings (The Queen’s Thief # 4)

Author: Megan Whalen Turner

Genre/Demographic: Fantasy / Young Adult / Adventure

Publisher:  Green Willow Books

Release Date: March 23rd, 2010

Format: Paperback (Own Purchased)

Synopsis:

Sophos, under the guidance of yet another tutor, practices his swordplay and strategizes escape scenarios should his father’s villa come under attack. How would he save his mother? His sisters? Himself? Could he reach the horses in time? Where would he go? But nothing prepares him for the day armed men, silent as thieves, swarm the villa courtyard ready to kill, to capture, to kidnap. Sophos, the heir to the throne of Sounis, disappears without a trace.

In Attolia, Eugenides, the new and unlikely king, has never stopped wondering what happened to Sophos. Nor has the Queen of Eddis. They send spies. They pay informants. They appeal to the gods. But as time goes by, it becomes less and less certain that they will ever see their friend alive again.

Across the small peninsula battles are fought, bribes are offered, and conspiracies are set in motion. Darkening the horizon, the Mede Empire threatens, always, from across the sea. And Sophos, anonymous and alone, bides his time. Sophos, drawing on his memories of Gen, Pol, the Magus and Eddis, sets out on an adventure that will change all of their lives forever. Continue reading “A Conspiracy of Kings – Megan Whalen Turner // at this point I beg you to read it, you’re possibly missing out”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑